Users

This section contains all of the settings related to viewing and managing users in the system. Currently it allows an administrator to view the list of users and modify a user's profile as well as see a list of active sessions.

User Security

This page shows options for configuring user registration and login options. By adjusting the settings here, it is possible to require all users to verify email addresses, turn off new-user registration completely, and require administrator approval of all new users:

Available options are:

Manage Users

This page will display a list of all the users (both active and inactive) currently in the system:

The users are listed with their name, login, email address, active status, approved status, whether they are currently locked out (for incorrectly entering their password too many times), the date they last logged-in and their user id. You can sort or filter the user list by entering the text in the search box. To view the details of a specific user, simply click on their name which is a hyperlink:

You can update the following fields on this page:

Once you are satisfied with the changes, you can click [Update User] to commit the changes. If there are any validation errors, they will be displayed, otherwise the system will display a confirmation box.

Log In As User - This button will log you out of you own account, and log you in as the displayed user. OIf that user is currently logged into the system, they will also be logged out. This will enable you to view the system as their user account for determining any issues they may have.

Create New User

This page allows the administrator to manually create a new user. Email verification will still be needed by the end user if that setting is set. When creating the user, only basic information is set. Then, afterwards, if additional information needs to be saved (such as the user's SpiraTeam API key), it can be done after saving.

Manage Organizations

This is where you can manage the user's organizations. The system will display a list of configured organizations:

By clicking on the name, you will be taken to the edit page, where you can specify data about this organization:

Users can be added by clicking the add user button (), and selecting the users to be added. There are three roles a user can be inside an organization:

When users are added to an organization by the application administrator, they are automatically added as a 'Member'. When a Manager adds a user to an organization, they must know the user's email address, and the next time the user logs on they are presented with a prompt to join the organization, which they may accept or deny.

User Roles

You can create and modify user roles here. By default, the standard roles are:

The following roles exist in the system and can be used when assigned permissions to users:

When editing a role, you can give it certain permissions:

The name of the role is used in the Role selection box, when editing a user.

Description is just used for administration purposes, and is not displayed anywhere to end-users.

Internal is a flag -- if set to true, Internal users are considered employees of the company, and have some additional permissions granted to them. If this option is set to 'No', then they are considered an External Customer (End-User).

The tabs then let you specify what the role can do in each section of the application.

Important Note: Roles can be stacked -- that is to say, Users can be assigned to more than one role at a time. Roles will be ANDed together. So if ANY role is marked 'Internal', then the user will be considered an employee. Likewise, if ANY role allows a user to create a ticket, then no matter what the other roles say, the user will be able to create a ticket. It is also important to note that is the section is disable entirely, setting a permission here will not have any effect.

View Active Sessions

Often an administrator of the system will want to know how many users are currently logged into the system, especially on installations licensed by concurrent-user. Clicking on the 'Active User Sessions' administration option will display a list of all the users who currently have active sessions in the system:

Each user is displayed along with their user ID, whether they're connected through the application or via a third-party add-on, the date they last logged-in, and whether they are being counted as concurrent-user from a licensing perspective. With a concurrent-user license, KronoDesk allows an unlimited number of general user sessions, but only a certain number of customer service agent user sessions.

The administrator is able to forcibly end a user's session using the 'End Session' link to the right of their name. Clicking this link will result in that user being logged out when they try and perform an operation in the system. Warning: You should make sure that the user is not actively using the system to prevent any unsaved data being lost.

Manage Employee Groups

Employee Groups are used to manage tickets and service level agreements (SLAs) for organizations in the system. When groups are defined, tickets can then be assigned to a group of employees, as well as individual employees (as in previous versions of the application).

On the main Administration screen you can edit, delete, or create new groups. Deleting a group will remove all users from the group, and unassign all tickets (closed and open) that were assigned to that group.

Creating or editing a group will give you the following page:

The fields available here are:

Changes made on this page take effect immediately - after any users on the ticket pages refresh their display.